Making Democracy Work

Past Events

Date & Time        Place        Description
Sunday, March 19, 2017
4-6 pm
Scattered Books, 29 King Street Information Session for Potential CCSD Board of Education & Chappaqua Library Candidates. All potential candidates are welcome to join us for an information session co-sponsored by the League of Women Voters of New Castle and the Chappaqua PTA.

Chappaqua Library Director Pam Thornton and members of both boards will be present to provide information and answer questions.

DEADLINE: Candidates for board seats must submit their petitions with requisite number of signatures by April 17th at 5pm.

Pizza and activities will be avialable for the kids!

Thursday, March 16, 2017
10am-12pm
New Castle Town Hall Conversation with the Supervisor. The League of Women Voters of New Castle invites the community to join in a conversation with Town Supervisor Rob Greenstein. Rob is the Supervisor and chief fiscal officer of the Town of New Castle. He establishes agendas, presides over Town Board meetings, signs all agreements and contracts on behalf of the Town and is responsible for maintaining financial stability of the Town of New Castle.

Join us for a lively discussion on many topics and issues of the day.

Coffee and light refreshments will be available.

Wednesday, March 8, 2017
9:30 am - 11:00 am
New Castle Town Hall LWVNC Board Meeting.
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
9:30 am - 11:00 am
New Castle Town Hall LWVNC Board Meeting.
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
7-9 pm
Church Street School
295 Church St
White Plains
NY State Constitutional Convention Presentation. Sally Robinson, Vice-President of Issues and Advocacy from LWVNYS discussed the "Who, What, Where, When, Why and How of New York State's Constitutional Convention Question. On November 7th, 2017, New Yorkers will vote on whether to convene a state constitutional convention. The New York State Constitution mandates that every 20 years voters be presented with the ballot question: "Shall there be a convention to revise the constitution and amend the same?" Co-sponsored by the LWV White Plains, our LWV New Castle, and numerous other local area leagues.
Monday, January 23, 2017
9:30-11 am
Crabtree's Kittle House LWV of New Castle Member Book Group. All the Single Ladies: Unmarried Women and the Rise of an Independent Nation</> by Rebecca Traister
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
9:30 am - 11:00 am
New Castle Town Hall LWVNC Board Meeting.
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
9:30 am - 11:00 am
New Castle Town Hall LWVNC Board Meeting.
Thursday, November 17, 2016
 
United Nations League Day at the UN.
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
9:30 am - 11:00 am
New Castle Town Hall LWVNC Board Meeting.
Thursday, October 27, 2016
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Chappaqua Library Theater Candidates' Night for County District Attorney.
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
7 pm
New Castle Town Hall Candidates' Night for NYS Senate District 40.
Monday, October 24, 2016
9:30-11 am
Crabtree's Kittle House
11 Kittle Road
Chappaqua, NY 10514
Book Group. The group is open to all League members and guests. The cost for each breakfast meeting is $15 per person. Please register in advance. For more information or to register contact Ronni Diamondstein maggiemae10514@gmail.com.

This month's selection is Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg by Irin Carmin and Shana Khnizhnik

Wednesday, September 28, 2016
9:30-11 am
Local Restaurant
75 So. Greeley Ave.
Chappaqua, NY 10514
Learn About the League. Join League members for coffee and conversation, and learn about what the League does.
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
 
various locations National Voter Registration Day.
Saturday, September 17, 2016
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Train station plaza New Castle Community Day.
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
11 am-1 pm
Westchester Community College Voter Registration Drive.
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
9:30 am - 11:00 am
New Castle Town Hall LWVNC Board Meeting.
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
6 am- 9 pm
Your Polling Place State Democratic Primary.
Saturday, September 10, 2016
8:30 am-1 pm
Ossining Farmers Market Voter Registration Drive.
Saturday, August 13, 2016
8:15 am - 1:15 pm
Chappaqua Farmers Market Voter Registration Drive.
Saturday, August 6, 2016
8:15 am- 1:15 pm
Chappaqua Farmers Market Voter Registration Drive.
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
 
  Sparkle for a Cause.
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
9:30 am
  Board Meeting.
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
3 pm
  Students Inside Albany Conference ends.
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
 
  Students Inside Albany Conference.
Monday, May 16, 2016
 
  Students Inside Albany Conference.
Sunday, May 15, 2016
12 pm
  Students Inside Albany Conference begins.
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
9:30 am
  Board Meeting.
Thursday, March 17, 2016
10 am
  Conversation with the Town Supervisor.
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
9:30 am
  Board Meeting.
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
9:30 am
  Board Meeting.
Monday, February 8, 2016
 
  Students Inside Albany applications due.
Friday, February 5, 2016
6-8 pm
Chappaqua Wine & Spirit Co.
65 King Street, Chappaqua
Wine Tasting Fundraiser. Featuring Opici Family Distributing FREE and Open to the Public

Light refreshments will be available

10% of all wine purchases will benefit The League of Women Voters of New Castle

Wednesday, February 3, 2016
9:30-11 am
Local Ice Cream,
75 S Greeley Ave
Chappaqua, NY 10514
Coffee and Conversation With NY League President.
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
12:00 pm
  Holiday Luncheon.
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
11:00 am
  Raise the Age Concurrence Meeting.
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
10:00 am
  LWVNC Board Meeting.
Thursday, December 3, 2015
 
  UN Visit.
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
9:30 am
  Coffee and Conversation at Local.
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
7:00 pm
  Raise the Age of Criminal Responsibility Forum.
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
5:30 pm
  Thanksgiving Desserts pick-up.
Friday, November 20, 2015
 
  Last day to register for UN Day.
Monday, November 16, 2015
 
  Last day to order Thanksgiving Desserts.